•   The State Cabinet has been reshuffled. Partha Chatterjee will now be in charge of Education (Primary, School and Higher Education) in addition to the Dept. of Legislative Affairs. The Hon'ble Minister for Finance and Commerce & Industry, Dr Amit Mitra, has been allotted the additional charge of Information & Technology portfolio. Bratya Basu will now take charge of the Tourism Department. Dr Shashi Panja, Hon'ble MoS (Ind. Charges), Women & Child Development will now take additional charge of the Social Welfare Department. Krishendu Narayan Chowdhury will take over as the Hon'ble Minister for Food Processing and Horticulture.
•  Hon'ble Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, in a programme organized by the Transport Dept. at the Nabanna Complex, flagged off 30 AC buses, which will ply in different routes around Howrah, Kolkata and other adjoining areas. She informed that around 874 new buses will be included into the fleet of Government Buses within a few more months. She also informed that other forms of transport, like waterways and helicopter services are being made more frequent for the commuters.

•   Hon'ble Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee paid floral tribute to Kazi Najrul Islam at Nabanna on his 115th Birth Anniversary. She inaugurated Najrul Tirtha, the state-of-art cultural and educational centre dedicated to the Rebel Poet Kazi Najrul Islam, at New Town, Kolkata. The Guests of Honour included the family members of the poet, Kalyani Kazi, Arindam Kazi and Anindita Kazi. Noted poet Joy Goswami and noted singer Anup Ghoshal were present on the occasion. Representative of Bangladesh High Commission was also present at the ceremony. The project was initiated by West Bengal Chief Minister last year on Najrul Jayanti. The work has been completed in record time of one year. Poet Alok Ranjan Dasgupta was felicitated with the Najrul Puraskar 2014. Other prizes of different academies and centres under the Information & Cultural Dept., Govt. of West Bengal, were also awarded on the occasion.

•   With the aim of providing better civic amenities to the people of West Bengal, the government has decided to form 4 municipal corporations from 17 existing municipalities and extend areas of 2 others across the state. The issues were discussed at the cabinet meeting to be held today at Nabanna. Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee addressed the press after the meeting. The proposed new municipal corporations are: Barasat - Includes Rajarhat-Gopalpur, Madhyamgram, Barasat and New Barrackpur, Barrackpore - Includes Barrackpore, Titagarh, Barrckpur North, Bhatpara, Garuliya, Naihati, Halishahar and Kanchrapara, Dum Dum - Includes Kamarhati, Khardah, Panihati, South Dum Dum and North Dum Dum, Maheshtala - Includes Maheshtala, Pujali and Budge Budge. Corporations with added areas: Serampore - Bansberia, Hooghly-Chinshurah, Uttarpara-Kotrang, Serampore, Rishra, Konnagar Champdani, Chandannagar and Bhadreswar will be clubbed with the Chandannagar Municipal Corporation, Howrah - Bali will be included in Howrah Municipal Corporation, Asansol - Kulti, Raniganj and Jamuria added to Asansol Municipal Corporation.
•  Hon'ble Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee made a surprise visited to Presidency Correctional Home to inspect the infrastructure. She interacted with inmates and held meetings with the officials.

•   Hon'ble Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee visited the residence of the missing mountaineer, Chhanda Gayen. Ms. Gayen and the two sherpas who accompanied could not be traced while trying to peak one of the three summits Mt. Kanchenjunga. Hon'ble Chief minister promised Ms. Gayen's mother that the WB Govt. of all assistance for the rescue of Ms. Gayen.
•   Hon’ble Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee paid floral tribute to legendary religious, social and educational reformer and humanitarian Raja Rammohan Roy on his 242nd Birth Anniversary at Nabanna.

•   Hon’ble Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee paid a surprise visit to Alipore Central Correctional Home, on her way to Nabanna. She took stock of the work environment and the status of the correctional home.
•  The Government of West Bengal conferred the State’s highest civilian awards – “Bangabibhusan” and “Bangabhusan” to 33 individuals for outstanding contribution in respective fields. In an illustrious programme held at the Science City Auditorium, Hon’ble Governor of West Bengal M K Narayanan felicitated the recipients in presence of Hon’ble Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee. The recipients were:“Bangabibhusan”- Sonam Tshering Lepcha, Arun Bhaduri, Makhanlal Natta, Dr. Sukumar Mukherjee, Madhabi Mukhopadhyay, Dipankar De, B.M.Khaitan, Justice Md. Abdul Gani, Nrisingha Prasad Bhaduri, Father Felix Raj, Haimanti Shukla, Alakananda Roy, Mohan Singh. “Bangabhusan”- Bhaichung Bhutia, Bidesh Bose, Goutam Sarkar, Sabbir Ali, Shyam Thapa, Tejendranarayan Majumder, Md. Abdul Wahab, Munsi Golam Mustafa, Bachan Singh Saral, Birsa Tirkey, Deboshri Roy, Srikanta Acharjee, Indranil Sen, Indrani Sen, Swagatalakshmi Dasgupta, Lopamudra Mitra, Lakshmiratan Shukla, Manoj Tewary, Suryasekhar Ganguly, Aparajita Adya.