'Tarana-e-Hindi' Award - 2015
•  The West Bengal Government conferred the prestigious “Tarana-e-Hindi” Award posthumously on Allama Iqbal, the great poet who penned the famous patriotic piece, “Sare Jahan Se Accha Hindustan Hamara…” in a colourful programme at Nazrul Mancha.The award was received by Prof. Dr. Waleed Iqbal, grandson of Allama Iqbal from Hon’ble Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee.
116th Birth Anniversary of the Rebel Poet Kazi Nazrul Islam
•  West Bengal Government celebrated the 116th birth anniversary of the Rebel Poet Kazi Nazrul Islam through a special cultural programme at Nazrul Mancha in presence of the Hon’ble Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee. On this day the Government gave away awards and recognition to various eminent stalwarts from fields of art and culture.
Bangabibhusan and Bangabhusan - 2015
•  The state's highest civilian awards, Bangabibhusan and Bangabhusan, were conferred on 35 awardees for outstanding work in social work, music, arts, culture, literature, industry, medicine, sports, entertainment and service. In the presence of the Hon’ble Governor of West Bengal, Shri Keshari Nath Tripathi, Hon’ble Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee handed over the Banga Bibhushan and Banga Bhusan awards to the stalwarts. Personalities conferred with Banga Bibhushan: Posthumous award to the legendary vocalist Firoja Begum, Ramkrishna Mission, Bharat Sevshram Sangha, noted vocalist Abdul Rashid Khan, Rashid Khan, Girija Devi, noted instrumentalist Manilal Nag, Buddhadeb Dasgupta, noted Tabla exponent Shankar Ghosh,ex Chief of Army Staffs Gen Shankar Roy Chowdhury, noted songwriter and singer Kabir Suman, noted litterateur Dibyendu Palit, noted ex-football captain Syed Naeemuddin, noted industrialists Satyabrata Ganguly, Sanjeev Goenka, noted film institution Venkatesh Films, world acclaimed tennis ace Leander Paes, noted social worker Lyangsong Tamang, body builder and ex Mr Universe Manohar Aich, noted litterateur Rampada Chowdhury. Banga Bhusan Samman were conferred to noted education and social service institute Al Ameen Mission, noted instrumentalist Tejendra Narayan Majumdar, noted poet Subodh Sarkar, noted medical practitioners Dr Subrata Moitra, Dr Tridib Banerjee, popular actor Dipak Adhikari (Dev), noted filmmakers Shoojit Sorcar, Koushik Ganguly, noted social worker Nima Wangdi Sherpa, noted Baul artiste Kartik Das Baul, noted Indologist Kalyanbrata Chakraborty, noted chess player and GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly, noted cricketers Laxmiratan Shukla, Manoj Tewari, noted body builder and Yoga exponent Tushar Shil.
155th birthday of Kabiguru Rabindranath Tagore
•  Hon’ble Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee inaugurated the fortnight-long state celebration of 155th birthday of Kabiguru Rabindranath Tagore from Cathedral Road.