Mahanayak Uttam Kumar Samman - 2014
•  Hon’ble Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, at the annual Mahanayak Uttam Kumar Samman at Nazrul Mancha, felicitated cine personalities for their contribution to the Bengali film industry. The awards were instituted in the year 2012, on the initiative of the Hon’ble Chief Minister, in the memory of the legendary actor Mahanayak Uttam Kumar. Veteran actor Mousumi Chatterjee and Bengali film star Dev were the recipients of this year`s Mahanayak Samman (Female and Male respectively). Moonmoon Sen was awarded the Mahanayika Samman. Actors, Chiranjeet Chakraborty, Sabyasachi Chakraborty, Mamata Shankar and Debashree Roy were feted with Lifetime Achievement Awards. Special Film Awards were presented to actors Arindam Sil, Hiran Chatterjee, Abir Chatterjee, Indranil Sengupta, Ankush Hazra, Ritwik Chakraborty, Kharaj Mukherjee, Rudranil Ghosh, Mimi Chakraborty,Sayantika Banerjee, Paoli Dam, Nusrat Jahan, Sreela Majumdar and Anuradha Roy. Veteran playback artiste Kumar Sanu was felicitated with Lifetime Achievement Award for Music , while Special Film Awards (Music) were presented to Shibaji Chattopadhyay, Arundhati Home Chowdhury and Adhir Chatterjee. Special Film awards for cinematography were given to Sirsha Roy and Shoumik Haldar while that of Editing was given to Bodhaditya Banerjee and Debkanta Chakraborty. Surinder Films received the Special Film award for the best Producer. Dipankar Chaki and Goutam Nag were awarded for sound recording while Azad Ahmed received the award for makeup. The award for art direction was given to Tanmoy Chakroborty and Goutam Bose while that for costume went to Sabarni Das. Special film awards for Direction were bestowed to Swapan Saha, Kamaleshwar Mukherjee and Prodipto Bhattacharyya. Hon’ble Chief Minister, on the occasion said that she firmly believed that the golden era of Bengali film and television industry will return. She said that it was necessary to honour talent in Bengal.